1812- War of 1812 begins

June 18, 2022

The United States was frustrated by Great Britain's unfair maritime practices and their opposition to America's intent to conquer Canada. The US perceived Canada as a weak nation impeding its desire to expand its territory. This objective was, nevertheless, never attained.

The British protected Canada against the US’s expansion. As a result, In 1812, President James Madison signed a declaration of war against the English. Both sides formed coalitions with Native American tribes. Some of the US’s allies included the Choctaw, Cherokee, Creek, and Seneca tribes. The British allies included the Shawnee, Ottawa, Ojibwe, and several more tribes.

Great Britain possessed a vast and well-trained army that defeated the US on land and at sea. That said, the US achieved success in the Northwest Territory while Britain thrived in upper Canada. Although the war involved expansion towards Canada, much fighting occurred in the south. Some battlegrounds included Mississippi, Florida, and Alabama.

After years of fighting, the United States and Great Britain grew tired of fighting. This was especially true after the British succeeded in burning down the US Capitol, the President's Mansion, and other buildings. On December 24, 1814, both parties agreed to end the conflict by signing the Treaty of Ghent. However, this treaty did not take effect until February 1815, so some conflicts still existed between the powers until then.


  1. Lynn Dockey

    The battle of New Orleans

  2. John Campisano

    Some 7000 men fought during war of 1812 on the battle of Lundy’s Lane in Niagara Falls, One of the fiercest battles of the war General Drummond defeated General Brown of the US forces who retreated across the river to Buffalo
    After burning Chippawa to the ground

  3. Ann G Fitzgerald

    I studied the war of 1812 in junior high but promptly forgot what it was really about. Thanks for the article and especially thanks keeping it short enough to give me information without me skipping over it and moving on….

  4. Sandy A LaCroix

    Love hearing the good and the bad, after all, it is our History. Very interesting!

  5. Pedro

    Good thing the U.S. didn’t conquer Canada. If we had, our Hollywood elite wouldn’t have anyplace to escape to when their feelings are hurt.

  6. John

    I just want to say THANK YOU! I love all of your historical efforts,
    Keep up the great work!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.